August 1, 2014
Search
Account Login
Further Reading

Databases A-Z

 

Check out our NEW Databases!

Workforce Skills for the 21st Century from LearningExpress.  Master core business skills, access job search and resume tools, improve your computer skills, prepare for the GED, and prepare for career tests.

World Vital Records  Search over 5 billion Family History and Genealogy records, and 28 million family trees. Access key collections: U.S. Federal Census images and indexes from 1790 to 1940; military records; 1 million newspaper pages; unique, exclusive local and world collections.

WestlawNext was created for legal professionals by legal profesionals - built upon trusted expertise and core assets such as market-leading content, a tradition of editorial excellence, and a commitment to accuracy. Available only in the library, including the Library's wireless service.

Multi-Database Searching

All EBSCOhost Databases
Kids Search (Grades K-8)
Student Research Center (Grades 6-12)

Note: Coverage dates represent the earliest record in a database. For the coverage dates of specific magazines and journals, check the publication list provided by each database.

A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z

A

Academic Search Premier provides journal articles from scholarly publications in multiple disciplines. Full text. Peer reviewed. Updated daily. 1865-present.

AHFS Consumer Medication Information has question/answer leaflets on the most prescribed and commonly used medications. Updated monthly.

Alt HealthWatch focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Full text. Peer reviewed. 1995-present.

American Ancestors is a database available through the New England Historic Genealogical Society for genealogy research.  Available only in the Main Library.

American and English Full Text Literature Collections contains poetry, drama, and fiction. Full text. Updated every six months. 600 A.D.-present.

Ancestry Library Edition is a source for conducting genealogical and local history research including the Federal Census. Available only in the Library, including the Library's wireless service.

Atomic Training is a video training tool for a variety of software packages and web applications.

Top of Page

B

Biography Reference Bank is a collection of biographies, biographical magazine articles, and images. Full text.Peer reviewed. Updated daily.

Business Source Premier provides journal articles on management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more. Full text. Peer reviewed. Updated daily. 1901-present.

C

Children's Core Collection is a guide for readers in preschool through grade 6 looking for fiction and nonfiction books, picture books, graphic novels, magazines, and more. Full text. Peer reviewed. Updated daily.

Chilton's Auto Repair is available both in a public library and from home to furnish diagnostic and repair information for autos and light trucks.

Computer Source provides journal articles about technology. Full text. Peer reviewed. 1965-present.

Consumer Health Complete contains journals, magazines, and reference books dealing with health, wellness, fitness, and nutrition, with complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health and wellness.Full text.

Consumer Reports.org   Are you in the market for a new car or appliance? Get informed before you buy. Includes product ratings and reviews, recall and safety information.

Credo Reference is an easy to use tool for research projects and homework. Users may search encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations and subject specific titles. There are 200,000+ images and audio files, and nearly 100 videos.

Top of Page

E

eBook Collection from EBSCOhost Search and view the full text of eBooks.

All EBSCOhost Databases

ERIC is a guide to published and unpublished sources on educational topics, provided by the US Department of Education. Full text. 1910-present.

F

Fiction Core Collection is a guide for adults looking for classic and contemporary fiction written in or translated into English. Updated continuously.

Foundation Directory Online is the nation's leading resource for locating nonprofit funding. Updated continually. Available only in the Main Library, including the Library's wireless service.

Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia is a general knowledge encyclopedia for high school students and adults. Updated annually.

Top of Page

G

Grants to Individuals is for people who need grants for personal purposes, such as education, business, or other assistance. Available only in the Main Library, including the Library's wireless service.

GreenFILE is a collection of scholarly, government, and general-interest titles about the environment. Full text. Peer reviewed. 1941-present. 

H

Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition provides full text from nearly 600 scholarly journals. It also contains abstracts and indexing for over 850 journals. Updated twice a week. 1952-present.

HeritageQuest Online  is a source for conducting genealogical and local history research including family and local history books.

J

The New Job & Career Accelerator is the industry's most comprehensive, online job search system that puts job seekers on the Fast Track to getting hired. The previous version of  Job & Career Accelerator will no longer be available after June 30, 2014 and all accounts will be closed.

K

Kids Search is designed for students in grades K through 8 researching any variety of subjects. Full text.

Top of Page

L

LawDepot  Access thousands of law forms; create legal documents; view and edit your documents anywhere at any time.

The NEW LearningExpress Library 3.0  offers interactive courses in computer skills, math, reading, writing, practice tests (including SAT, GED, US Citizenship, and civil service positions) as well as everything you need for a successful job search in one easy-to-use online application! 

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts is an index to core and priority journals in information management, with coverage starting in the mid-1960s.

Literary Reference Center contains literary journals and respected literary reference works. Content includes plot summaries, literary criticism, author biographies and interviews, and thousands of poems and short stories. Full text.

Top of Page

M

Mango is an online language learning system teaching practical conversation skills for real communication.

MAS Ultra - School Edition provides articles from general interest and current events magazines. Full text. Peer reviewed. Updated daily. 1865-present.

MasterFILE Premier provides journal articles from periodicals covering general interest, business, science, and more. Full text. Peer reviewed. Updated daily. 1965-present.

MEDLINE searches citations from over 4,800 biomedical journals.

Middle and Junior High  Core Collection is a guide for readers in grades 5 through 9 looking for fiction and nonfiction books, electronic resources, and more. Full text. Updated daily.

Middle Search Plus provides articles from magazines covering general topics for late elementary, middle, and junior high students. Full text. Peer reviewed.

Morningstar Investment Research Center is a comprehensive financial database for both the beginner and the expert investor. Updated continuously.

Top of Page

N

Newspaper Source contains articles from various regional, national, and international newspapers and newswires, as well as television and radio news transcripts. Full text. Updated daily. 1985-present.

NoveList Plus helps readers of all ages choose fiction and nonfiction books to read through author, genre, or other criteria. Updated daily. 

O

Ohio Web Library Databases

Top of Page

P

Philanthropy In/Sight is an interactive mapping tool designed for grantmakers, policymakers, researchers, academics—virtually anyone interested in the impact of philanthropy around the world today. Available only in the Main Library, including the Library's wireless service.

Points of View Reference Center contains resources that present multiple sides of an issue, which provides the basis from which students can realize and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.

Primary Search provides articles from children's magazines and pamphlets, designed for elementary school students.  Full text.  Peer reviewed.  Updated daily. 1985-present.

Professional Development Collection provides a specialized collection of journal articles designed for professional educators. Full text. Peer reviewed. 1930-present.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection  provides articles about psychiatry, psychology, and behavior. Full text. Peer reviewed. Updated daily. 1930-present.

Public Library Core Collection: Nonfiction is a guide for adults looking for nonfiction books and reference works. Updated continuously.

Top of Page

R

ReferenceUSA  provides phone numbers, addresses, and detailed information for residents and businesses in the United States.

Regional Business News provides coverage from regional business publications. Full text. Updated daily. 1985-present.

Religion and Philosophy Collection is designed for researchers and students of theology and philosophy. Full text. Peer reviewed. Updated daily. 1975-present.

Top of Page

S

Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps provides historical maps of Ohio towns and cities from 1867 to 1970.

Science Online offers comprehensive information on the sciences for students in grades 6 through 12. Full text.

Science Reference Center contains hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources.  Full text.

Searchasaurus is a search tool designed for children covering various topics. Full text.

Senior High Core Collection is a guide for readers in grades 9 through 12 looking for fiction and nonfiction books, as well as curriculum-related materials. Updated continuously.

Sociological Collection provides information on different areas of sociology. Full text. Peer reviewed. Updated daily. 1930-present.

Student Research Center is designed for students in grades 6 through 12 researching any variety of subjects. Full text. Peer reviewed. 1965-present.

Top of Page

T

TOPICsearch is a current events database for students. Full text.

V

Vocational and Career Collection  provides articles from trade and industry related journals and magazines. Full text. Peer reviewed. 1985-present.

W

 

WestlawNext was created for legal professionals by legal profesionals - built upon trusted expertise and core assets such as market-leading content, a tradition of editorial excellence, and a commitment to accuracy. Available only in the library, including the Library's wireless service.

Workforce Skills for the 21st Century from LearningExpress. Master core business skills, access job search and resume tools, improve your computer skills, prepare for the GED, and prepare for career tests.

World Book Early World of Learning offers a wealth of resources to help preschoolers and children in the early grades grasp critical early childhood themes while developing reading and oral language skills. The Early World of Learning uses narrated stories with word-by-word highlighting, interactive games, interactive reference material for beginners, and more to help young learners build vocabulary, comprehension, phonics, and reading fluency.

World Book Kids

World Book Online is a general knowledge encyclopedia; included are World Book Kids, Info Finder, Reference Center, Enciclopedia Estudianti Hallazgos, Gran Enciclopedia Hispanica, L'Encyclopedie Decouverte and Early World of Learning.

World Vital Records Search over 5 billion Family History and Genealogy records, and 28 million family trees. Access key collections: U.S. Federal Census images and indexes from 1790 to 1940; military records; 1 million newspaper pages; unique, exclusive local and world collections.

WorldCat is an online catalog for locating books and other materials in libraries worldwide. Updated daily.

Top of Page

 Updated: 06/27/2013 DAK